A fallen comrade

Today has not been a good day. I found out that four Canadian soldiers died during an  IED attack in Kandahar.  Well, that is a tragedy for all of us, I also found out that one of them was my friend Myles Mansell.  He was a reservist that was attached to 1 RCHA out of Shilo Manitoba and was from my hometown, Victoria.  I knew him for about 8 or so years and considered him a friend.  There are a number of Reservist serving overseas with the Reg Force and they face the same dangers as any soldiers.  The term "Twice the Citizen" has never been so clear to me now as Myles was active in both his life in and out of uniform.  My heart goes out to all his family and friends and his comrades at Fifth Field Regiment.  Rest in Peace, my friend…
Author: xcalibar25

One man on a never-ending quest against mediocrity.

Leave a Reply

