Rock Band Bandmates

During the hype and build-up towards the release of Rock Band 2, it was revealed that, through the revised Rockband.com web site, you would be able to create actual merchandise of your band.  That meant T-shirts, bumper stickers, mouse pads and figures.  Yes, figures, though they are more like statues, but of your created characters in your Rock Band band.  This seems like a great marketing tie-in;  those who want to show off their love for all things Rock Band can do so in style.

But, like all good things, there is a bit of a snag if you don’t live in the good old U.S. of A.  You cannot order most item in the Make a Merch section if you don’t live in the States.  So as a Canadian, I’m SOL if I wanted a "the Meeloo Experience" T-shirt, key chain or bumper sticker (the Meeloo Experience is the name of my band in the game.)  What I could get, though, was the Bandmates statue (if you are outside USA or Canada, you can’t get even this!)  So, with this in mind and totally ignoring the fact that I need to put less on my credit card, I ponied up the USD69.99 for a figure of my guitarist character, Helen.  That was on the 22nd of November.

Today, 3 Dec 08, I got my figure!  Not even 2 weeks and I got my custom made figure delivered to my door (with a $20.79 border fee attached).  The detail is incredible, right down to the Bad Religion symbol on her guitar and the "Meeloo X" symbol on her cami.  The texture is a bit rough, but considering that it was created from a 3D printer, this is just a observation, not a complaint.  The only real complaint I have is that the guitar symbol base that the figure is attached to is in turn attached to a large while plastic base, which is part of the display packaging.  As room on my shelves is minimum, it leave me not choice but to clear room for it.

Still, is a nice piece of video game related merchandise and a figure that is truly your own to design, through your in game Rock Band 2 characters.

 

Various 020

The packaging

Various 021

The figure of Helen

 

Various 022

Close-up.  Need a better camera

 

Various 024

Detail- Guitar w/ BR symbol and Meeloo X symbol on her shirt

 

Various 025

Back

 

Various 026

Right Side

 

Various 027

Left Side

Author: xcalibar25

One man on a never-ending quest against mediocrity.

Leave a Reply

